Insurance for old / elderly cats

Cat insurance for old cats - even without age limit with doc4pets insurance powered by Smart Paws

Your pet has already lived a few years and experienced a lot. But you want your cat to still have health insurance cover, even if it is a bit older.

  • Is there still cat insurance for older cats?
  • Do pre-existing conditions play a role in the acceptance of the application for an old cat?

As is the case with us humans, it is often the old cats that have to struggle increasingly with diseases. In cats, some particularly acute diseases stand out, which occur more frequently with increasing age. The costs at the vet can add up considerably. The older the cat, the longer and more expensive the treatments. While a young cat can quickly get over a fracture after an accident, a 14-year-old male cat can require weeks of follow-up treatment. After all, a 14-year-old male cat would correspond to a human age of 72 years.

Diseases in older cats are often underestimated!


As with humans, it is often old cats that have to struggle increasingly with diseases. For cats over 8 years of age, the risk of diabetes or chronic renal insufficiency (a secondary disease is high blood pressure) increases significantly. The cost of teeth extraction or recurring gum infections should also not be underestimated with increasing age. Other common age-related diseases in both indoor and outdoor cats are hyperthyroidism or hepatitis (liver inflammation).

Depending on the preliminary examinations, type of treatment, permanent medication and recurring check-ups, the ongoing veterinary costs can run into the thousands (for cats, a life expectancy of 18 years is not uncommon). The possibilities of taking out cat health insurance, which limits the financial risk, are often very limited at this time, not only because of the age, but also because of the previous health burden with many pet insurance companies. Not so with us!


Problems with taking out health insurance for older cats


Especially for cat owners, the topic of animal health insurance is not easy. Only a few insurers offer such policies at all, and even fewer offer cat health insurance for old cats, where pre-existing conditions and advanced age also increase the risk for the insurer. If at all, insurance companies often only offer cat health insurance for older cats with high deductibles or exclusions of benefits in the areas of pre-existing conditions.

The premiums for cat health insurance for older cats also typically increase with age. It is therefore best to take out health insurance for your four-legged friend as early as possible and not wait until you are in need of special cat health insurance offers for older cats.

Of course, this advice does not help if it is already too late. Here is the good news - doc4pets insurance powered by Smart Paws also insures old cats beyond the 8-year limit and also with pre-existing conditions.

What are you risking without health insurance?


The biggest problem is when your pet's life can only be saved by surgery. Compared to the average medical treatment, an operation is a costly undertaking. Therefore, in such a case, you are often faced with the decision of either paying the veterinary bill, or at least an advance payment, in advance or having your pet euthanised. The cat health insurance for older cats frees you from this dilemma, because the insurance policy already secures the payment of the veterinary bill in advance.

Overview of tariffs Cat health insurance for cats older than 8 years

Of course, with doc4pets powered by Smartpaws insurance, you can also have your pet treated by any other vet and are not tied to our practices!

As you can see below, with our partner Smartpaws you have the choice between Three tariff classes (Optimal, Classic and Basic). It is understandable that you want the best possible care for your cat. However, this does not necessarily mean that you should always choose the most expensive tariff. Why?

  • On the one hand, young cats usually do not need as much veterinary care as older cats (e.g. pancreatitis).
  • However, this is also partly a question of keeping - outdoor cats certainly get into scuffles, foreign objects or car accidents more often than purely domestic cats.
Therefore our tip - if you are unsure whether you need a cat health insurance at all, then rather choose a lower tariff - you can upgrade with us at any time!

To give you a better idea of the average treatment costs you might have to pay, we have listed some examples here:

Average costs for veterinary treatments for the cat

  • General examination approx. 45 EUR
  • Amputation of the sphincter approx. 650 EUR
  • CT teeth cat (Stw. FORL) approx. 340 EUR
  • Remove foreign body from nose / throat (granules etc.) approx. 230 EUR
  • Blood count approx. 120 EUR
We offer your pet lifelong insurance cover.   
 
TariffOptimal Care Classic Care  
Annual aggregate limit to cover the following5.000 € 2.500 €  
Veterinary consultation and physical examination, diagnosis, treatment including costs of surgery, care and medication for any illness, disease or injury.   
      
Complementary therapies recommended by your vet, including physiotherapy, hydrotherapy, acupuncture and chiropractic.   
        
Emergency dental treatment due to accidental injury or as a side effect of serious illness or injury.     
      
Your insurance cover also takes effect for important emergency treatment while travelling abroad.     
Prescription feed40% up to € 200 p.a. 20% up to € 150 p.a.  
Costs of prescription medicines for chronic diseases50% up to € 750 p.a.40% up to € 500 p.a.
      
★ Reimbursement according to the veterinary fee schedule - 3-fold GOT rate (4-fold GOT rate for emergencies)  
EXCLUSIVE: In each insurance year in which you do not submit an invoice, you will receive a 15% discount on the premium for the following year.  
For each new diagnosis in an insurance year, you only pay the deductible of € 100 and a co-payment of 20% on each submitted invoice. The deductible and the co-payment have to be paid anew in each insurance year.  
What is not insured?     
Pre-existing conditions: We will not pay for any costs associated with the diagnosis or treatment of any illness or injury which occurred or showed symptoms prior to the commencement of cover.  
Pregnancy or infertility: Costs related to pregnancy, preeclampsia or infertility are excluded.  
Routine or preventive treatments such as vaccinations, flea, tick or worm treatments, grooming, preventive dental treatments or weight control treatments.  
Scroll to Top

Alte Katzen

Versicherung für alte / ältere Katzen

Katzenversicherung für alte Katzen – auch ohne Altersbegrenzung mit doc4pets Versicherung powered by Smart Paws

Dein Stubentiger hat schon ein paar Jahre hinter sich und viel erlebt. Du möchtest aber, dass Deine Katze noch einen Krankenversicherungsschutz erhält, auch wenn sie etwas älter ist.

  • Gibt es noch Katzenversicherungen für ältere Katzen?
  • Spielen Vorerkrankungen bei der Annahme des Antrages für eine alte Katze eine Rolle?

Wie bei uns Menschen auch, sind es oft die alten Katzen, die zunehmend mit Krankheiten zu kämpfen haben. Bei den Katzen stechen dabei einige besonders akute Erkrankungen hervor, die mit zunehmenden Alter erhöht auftreten. Dabei summieren sich die Kosten beim Tierarzt zum Teil erheblich. Denn je älter die Katze ist, desto langwieriger und teuer sind die Behandlungen. Während eine junge Katze einen Bruch nach einem Unfall schnell überwunden hat, kann es bei einem 14-jährigen Kater zu einer wochenlangen Nachbehandlung kommen. Immerhin würde ein 14-jähriger Kater einem Menschenalter von 72 Jahren entsprechen.

Krankheiten bei älteren Katzen werden vielfach unterschätzt!


Wie beim Menschen auch, sind es oft alte Katzen die zunehmend mit Krankheiten zu kämpfen haben. Für Katzen ab 8 Jahren steigt das Risiko an Diabetes oder chronischer Niereninsuffienz (eine Folgeerkrankung ist Bluthochdruck) zu erkranken, deutlich. Auch die Kosten für Zähne ziehen oder wiederkehrende Zahnfleischentzündungen sollte man im zunehmenden Alter nicht unterschätzen. Weitere häufige altersbedingte Krankheiten sowohl bei Wohnungskatzen, als auch bei Freigängern sind eine Schilddrüsenüberfunktion oder eine Hepatitis (Leberentzündung).

Die laufenden Tierarztkosten können – je nach Voruntersuchungen, Art der Behandlung, dauerhafter Medikation, widerkehrenden Kontrolluntersuchungen in die Tausende gehen (für Katzen ist eine Lebenswartung von 18 Jahren keine Seltenheit). Die Möglichkeiten zum Abschluss einer Katzenkrankenversicherung, die das finanzielle Risiko begrenzt, sind zu diesem Zeitpunkt aber nicht nur durch das Alter, sondern auch durch die gesundheitliche Vorbelastung oftmals bei vielen Tierversicherungen sehr eingeschränkt. Anders bei uns!


Probleme beim Abschluss einer Krankenversicherung für ältere Katzen


Gerade für Katzenhalter ist das Thema Tierkrankenversicherung nicht einfach. Nur wenige Versicherer führen überhaupt derartige Policen, noch weniger eine Katzenkrankenversicherung für alte Katzen, bei denen auch noch Vorerkrankungen und hohes Alter das Risiko für den Versicherer erhöhen. Wenn überhaupt, bieten die Versicherungsunternehmen im Bereich Katzenkrankenversicherung für ältere Katzen oft nur noch Tarife mit hoher Selbstbeteiligung oder Leistungsausschlüssen in den Bereichen der Vorerkrankungen an.

Auch die Beiträge der Katzenkrankenversicherung für ältere Katzen steigen typischerweise mit dem Alter. Das beste ist es daher, die Krankenversicherung für den Vierbeiner möglichst früh abzuschließen und nicht erst zu warten, bis Du auf spezielle Angebote zur Katzenkrankenversicherung für ältere Katzen angewiesen bist.

Dieser Ratschlag hilft aber natürlich nicht weiter, wenn es dafür schon zu spät ist. Hier nun die gute Nachricht – doc4pets Versicherung powered by Smart Paws versichert auch alte Katzen jenseits der 8 Jahresgrenze und auch mit Vorerkrankungen.

Was riskierst Du ohne Krankenversicherung?


Das größte Problem stellt sich Dir dann, wenn das Leben Deines Haustieres nur noch durch eine Operation gerettet werden kann. Im Vergleich zu einer durchschnittlichen medikamentösen Behandlung ist eine Operation ein kostspieliges Unterfangen. Daher stehst Du in einem solchen Fall oft vor der Entscheidung, entweder die Tierarztrechnung, oder zumindest einen Vorschuss, im voraus zu bezahlen oder Dein Haustier einschläfern zu lassen. Die Katzenkrankenversicherung für ältere Katzen befreit Dich aus diesem Dilemma, denn durch die Versicherungspolice ist die Bezahlung der Tierarztrechnung bereits im Vorfeld gesichert.

Übersicht der Tarife Katzenkrankenversicherung für Katzen älter 8 Jahre

Wir bieten Deinem Haustier einen lebenslangen Versicherungsschutz.   
 
TarifOptimal Care Classic Care  
Jährliches Gesamtlimit zur Abdeckung von Folgendem5.000 € 2.500 €  
Tierärztliche Beratung und körperliche Untersuchung, Diagnose, Behandlung einschliesslich Kosten für Chirurgie, Pflege und Medikamente für alle Erkrankungen, Krankheiten oder Verletzungen   
      
Ergänzende Therapien, die von Ihrem Tierarzt empfohlen werden, einschließlich Physiotherapie, Hydrotherapie, Akupunktur und Chiropraktik   
        
Zahnärztliche Notfallbehandlung durch Unfallverletzung oder als Nebeneffekt einer ernsthaften Erkrankung oder Verletzung.     
      
Ihr Versicherungsschutz greift auch bei wichtigen Notfallbehandlungen auf Reisen im Ausland.     
Verschreibungspflichtiges Futter40% bis zu 200 € p.a. 20% bis zu 150 € p.a.  
Kosten für verschreibungspflichtige Medikamente bei chronischen Erkrankungen50% bis zu 750 € p.a.40% bis zu 500 € p.a.
      
      Erstattung gemäß der Gebührenordnung der Tierärzte – 3- fachen GOT-Satz (4-fachen GOT- Satz für Notfälle)  
 EXKLUSIV: In jedem Versicherungsjahr, in dem Sie keine Rechnung einreichen, erhalten Sie einen Rabatt von 15% auf die Prämie des folgenden Jahres.  
Für jede neue Diagnose in einem Versicherungsjahr zahlen Sie nur den Selbstbehalt von 100 €, sowie eine Zuzahlung von 20% auf jede eingereichte Rechnung. Der Selbstbehalt und die Zuzahlung sind in jedem Versicherungsjahr neu zu leisten.  
Was ist nicht versichert?     
Vorerkrankungen: Wir übernehmen keine Kosten im Zusammenhang mit der Diagnose oder Behandlung von Krankheiten oder Verletzungen, die bereits vor Beginn des Versicherungsschutzes auftraten oder Symptome zeigten.  
Schwangerschaft oder Unfruchtbarkeit: Kosten im Zusammenhang mit Schwangerschaft, Scheinträchtigkeit oder Unfruchtbarkeit sind ausgeschlossen.  
Routine- oder vorbeugende Behandlungen wie Impfungen, Floh-, Zecken- oder Wurmkuren, Fellpflege, präventive Zahnbehandlungen oder Behandlungen zur Gewichtskontrolle.  
Scroll to Top